I use to fantasise about giant monsters

Perhaps this is a form of escapism, but when I feel really bored, or when I wish some things were better, I see through my window and look at the mountains in the distance.  When that happens, I sigh, and I fantasise about monsters coming out from behind those mountains.

First, I imagine a great dark hand, with thin, pointy fingers, graving with a mighty strength the top of the mountains.  This action would cause a small but visible landslide.

Then, the monster emerges.  It usually is a dark figure with bright eyes, a humanoid two-legged monster.  It has no mouth, but still can roar.  A roar so powerful that it summons a large wind while the earth trembles.

Finally, its feet will step over the mountain.  The monster walks down to the city with the intention to obliterate it, and everybody is ignorant of the destructive rampage that the monster is leaving behind the mountain.

I’ve been having this fantasy for years now.  I wonder if there is a name for it.  Sometimes, I just move my head back to the mountains, and the monster is there, already in the top, quiet, watching.

Leave a comment